Blog

Breaking Your Silence—How to Get Past Fear

Fear–everyone experiences an uncomfortable tension, a flutter in the stomach, when they think about writing about their lives and revealing themselves. But most of us come to the page with a need–to explore our lives and memories. To understand something. To muse and wonder about life, relationships. What are the stories that haunt you? What do you need to say…

Continue Reading

Blog

Why You Need to Write your Memoir

What are the stories that call out to you? Moments that shaped you into who you are now? What voices tell you to write them, and what forces stop you? What I learned in wrestling with my inner critic is that writing will cure it.

Classes & Events, Events

Mastering Voice

Mondays, May 4-May 25 at 4pm PT / 7pm ET With the bonus below, this class will now run 9 consecutive weeks: Mondays, 3/30 – 5/25. This 4-week intensive (May 4-May 25) is our most ambitious and exciting master class to date. Join Brooke and Linda Joy for four consecutive Mondays to learn about the inner workings of voice—its evolution from…

Continue Reading

Classes & Events, Events

A Day of Memoir Inspiration, Motivation, and Craft

May 1st, 2020: 10am-3pm PT / 1pm-6pm ET Join Linda Joy and Brooke and our talented and inspiring guests—best-selling author Elizabeth Gilbert (Eat, Pray, Love and Committed), Joshua Mohr (Sirens), and Alia Hanna Habib (literary agent).   10am PT/1pm ET: Answer What’s Calling You Brooke Warner kicks off the day with an invitation to dream big—into what your memoir wants to be, into your…

Continue Reading

Blog, Excerpts by Linda

Tracks to My Heart

This is the first chapter of my memoir Don’t Call Me Mother–A Daughter’s Journey from Abandonment to Forgiveness. This story begins to explore a three generational pattern of mothers leaving daughters–and what necessarily comes in the wake of such troubles. The beginning paragraphs are from a dream I kept having about my mother and me after she died. The train…

Continue Reading

Blog

Home–a Place of Memory, Surfing the Edges of Time

I just returned from “home,” Enid, Oklahoma, where I read my memoirs and attended  my high school reunion–more to come on that. All over town, I encountered places of memory so profound I felt I was surfing layers of time. This photo is of a small lake bordering what was Phillips University back in the 50s, tucked away in silence…

Continue Reading