Three Ways to Celebrate National Lifewriting Month for Free!

Three Ways to Celebrate National Lifewriting Month for Free!

 Celebrate National Lifewriting Month with our free Webinar Writing on the Edge

 

 Fall-2013-Telesummit

 

Memoir writing is dangerous! Yes, many writers feel that they are falling off some kind of edge, taking chances, risking–what? –perhaps as memoirists, we’re risking a sense of safety by hiding our voices. But if you are writing a memoir, you ARE inviting yourself to step out and speak your truths, to write on that edge of who you are, what you think, and what you need to share with the world. What do you have to say that only you can say? What is your wisdom? Read more…

 

 

 

 

Amy Friedman

Writing Without a Net

10:00 AM PDT  11:00 AM MDT  12 PM CDT  1 PM  EDT

 

choice 18 great amy pops

Writing compelling memoir calls upon all the craft and intelligence of any strong writing—the ability to render characters believable, scenes whole and vivid, settings your reader can not only see but smell, hear, almost taste. But memoir requires the writer to take one more step—to know that her story will resonate only if it is deeply true. Read more.

 

 

 

 

 

brian 2012

 

Look Sharp! 7 WEBSITE AND COVER DESIGN TIPS TO HELP SELL YOUR BOOK

Brian Felsen, president of Book Baby

 

11:15 AM PDT  12:15 PM MDT  1:15 PM CDT  2:15 PM  EDT

We all know the value of good design and yet if we are self-published authors, there is so much to learn that we don’t know—and much of the time, we don’t know that we don’t know it! Brian Felsen, president of the basics on website and cover design which will help you sell your book.

Read more.

 

 

Jordanpinkheadshot

 

Jordan Rosenfeld

How to Use the Hallmark of Great Fiction Writing—the Scene—in Memoir

12:30 PDT  1:30 MDT  2:30 CDT 3:30 EDT

We all know that to write a memoir, we must draw upon the skills of fiction writing—while still keeping true to the requirement that we write “the Truth.” to the best of our ability we must discern and capture our experiences. How does keeping true to memory affect our ability to write well, to bring the reader deeply into the world of our story?

Read more…

 

 

 

Howard Vrs_2

 

Howard Van Es

Cashing in with Kindle

1:45 PDT 2:45 MDT  3:45 CDT  4:45 EDT  

The publishing landscape has dramatically changed—fewer large publishers, and more opportunities for independent publishing.  And Amazon’s Kindle program is leading the way, helping thousands of authors get in front of readers and sell books Amazon offers a variety  of powerful marketing tools that independent authors can tap into. Howard Van Es, president of Let’s Write Books, Inc. is going to show you how to get your book to the top of the Amazon rankings. Read more…

NaNoWriMo

 

 

 

nanowrimo

 

NaNoWriMo

 

 

Many writers are already busily writing at NaNoWriMo .The idea is to write as much as 50,000 words in 30 days. 6.5 pages a day. Memoir writers are welcome too!

Can you do it? Can you dedicate a couple of hours a day to get the first draft of your memoir done?

Tips for what I call MemoirWriMo:

1. Write quickly, let your fingers go and the words spill out.

2. When  you’re not writing, feed your imagination with photos and research.

3. Get the basics on the page. Outline your ideas, list scenes and be focused on what you need to write.

4. Don’t worry about grammar, punctuation or details.

5. Blow on by your inner critic. There is simply no time to listen to it.

 

Write Nonfiction in November

My friend Nina Amir runs a fabulous 30 day blog extravaganza at Write Nonfiction in November (WNFIN), also known as National Nonfiction Writing Month (NaNonFiWriMo), is one nonfiction writer’s response to National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo), a contest that has fiction writers writing 50,000 words in 30 days during November. It’s also a challenge to nonfiction writers to spend the month of November writing and completing a work of nonfiction. Be sure to check in with the great experts writing about nonfiction and start your own write nonfiction challenge. Read more here.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *